Te Huarahi Tika Trust


Name: Te Huarahi Tika Trust
Also Known As: THTT
Entity Type: Trust
Affiliations: Hautaki Limited, Hautaki Trust, 2Degrees Mobile, Tūaropaki Incorporation, Wairarapa Moana Trust/Wairarapa Moana Incorporation
Industry Sector: Telecommunications
Web site: http://www.thtt.co.nz 
Date Established: 2000
Membership Model: Elected by an electoral college


Te Huarahi Tika Trust administers an award of a part interest in radio spectrum (in particular 3Ghz cellphone frequencies to Maori). While rejecting the Waitangi Tribunal’s 1999 finding that the radio frequency spectrum is a taonga, the Crown gave Māori a limited paper right to ‘choose its development partner’ and a parcel of cash ($5m). This cash was to be used to enter into a commercial relationship with a partner to develop the spectrum right and create a new Trust structure– Te Huarahi Tika Trust (Charitable Trust), its commercial arms and Electoral College are the fruits of those arrangements.

Vision and Values
The vision for Te Huarahi Tika Trust is to maximise our contribution to the survival of Māori as a people through telecommunications and ICT activities. Te Huarahi Tika has adopted ten kaupapa tuku iho that guide all planning and decision making.

Te Huarahi Tika established Hautaki Limited, the trustee of the Te Huarahi Tika Trust’s commercial arm, Hautaki Trust. The commercial objectives of the Hautaki Trust are to meet and fund the purposes of the Te Huarahi Tika Trust.

The trust seeks to increase the participation of Māori in the knowledge economy, in particular, the information and telecommunications sectors in New Zealand. The trust deed identifies a range of tikanga to assist in this objective including:
promotion of education and training programmes that support Māori particularly in the fields of information and telecommunications technology; funding skills development in the information, telecommunications and technology sectors
fostering and promoting research and development into information and telecommunications technology
establishing scholarships and making grants to Māori communities to give access telecommunications technology, particularly where those communities may be remote or economically disadvantaged promoting and facilitating access to business mentors, conferences, presentations and other learning experiences.


Key people

  • Antony Royal
  • Bill Osborne
  • Brian Leighs
  • Daphen Luke
  • Derek Wooster
  • Dr Mereana Selby
  • Eric Hertz
  • Gabrielle Huria
  • George Reedy
  • Haydn Edmonds
  • Hemi Toia
  • Jacqui Te Kani
  • Karaitiana Taiuru
  • Mavis Mullens
  • Neville Baker
  • Paul Majurey
  • Riria (Missy) Te Kanawa
  • Rob Macleod
  • Sir Archie Taiaroa
  • Sir Graham Lattimer
  • Sir Paul Reeves
  • Sir Wira Gardiner
  • Steve Murray
  • Strive Masiyiwa
  • Tainui Stephens
  • Tex Edwards
  • Tina Wehipeihana Wilson
  • Toa Greening

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *